## MINUTES BLUEGRASS ADD BOARD OF DIRECTORS 50<sup>TH</sup> CELEBRATION MEETING

## **APRIL 27, 2022**

The Quarterly Meeting of the Board of Directors met Wednesday, April 27 at the Embassy Suites. Chair Mayor James James called the meeting to order at 6:15 p.m.

Anderson County Judge/Executive Orbrey Gritton

Tom Isaac

Bourbon County Judge/Executive Mike Williams

Jan Wagoner Don Menke

Boyle County Judge Howard Hunt

Tom Tye

Martha Caywood

Clark County Judge/Executive Henry Branham

Mayor Ed Burtner Robert Blanton Larry Disney

Estill County Judge/Executive Donnie Watson

Fayette County Mayor Linda Gorton

Chris Ford

Franklin County Judge/Executive Huston Wells

Mayor Layne Wilkerson

Garrard County Mayor Marshall Norton

Donna Powell

Harrison County Judge Alex Barnett

Mayor James Smith

Anna Moore Gary Brunker

Jessamine County Judge/Executive David West

Peter Beaty

Lincoln County Judge/Executive Jim Adams

Madison County Judge Reagan Taylor

Mayor Robert Blythe

Mercer County Mike Sanford

Nicholas County Judge/Executive Steve Hamilton

Cheryl Rawlings

Powell County Judge/Executive James Anderson

Mayor Dale Allen Josie Hollon James Caudill

Scott County Mayor Tom Prather

Jared Hollon Mike Hennigan

Woodford County Mayor Brian Traugott

At-Large Sandy Shafer

Dave Carlstedt

Emeritus Don Hassall

A quorum was present.

Chair Mayor Smith introduced special guest:

Robbin Taylor - State Director Senator Mitch McConnell Stephanie Nelson - Field Rep/Senator Mitch McConnell Mica Sims - Field Rep/Senator Rand Paul Tatum Dale - Deputy District Director Congressman Andy Barr Lance Terrell - Field Rep/Congressman Andy Barr Craig Shockley - Field Rep/Congressman Andy Barr Kathy Plomin - Council Member LFUCG Jamie Link - Secretary, Education & Labor Cabinet

Former Board members:

Russ Meyer Edwinna baker Larry Tincher Harold McKinney Denny Nunnelley

Retirees from the Bluegrass ADD:

Doug Rigsby Cheryl Goodman Craig McAnelly Don Hassall

Chair, Mayor Smith wanted to take a minute and remind everyone of what makes up the Bluegrass ADD Board of Directors. The ADD has 17-counties and 33-cities and is governed by Board of Directors consisting of 17 Judge/Executives, 18 Mayors. We have 34 appointed citizen members, two from each county, and three At-Large Citizen Members. Total of 72. Executive Committee meets monthly and has one member to represent each county that is nominated by the nominating Committee, selected by the Chair and approved by the Board.

Mayor Smith called on Secretary, Mike Sanford for the January Joint Board of Directors, February Executive and March Executive meeting minutes found on pages 9-10. A motion was made by Judge Watson and seconded by Mayor Burtner to approve the minutes. The motion carried.

Judge David West was asked to update the members on the Bluegrass ADD's finances. The past CFO resigned in December. Mr. Michael Buschmann had previously worked at the ADD as the Workforce Financial Officer and is now the CFO. Judge West informed the Board that the schedule of investments, held in two money markets and one CD sits at roughly \$600.000. It is the financial goal of the Bluegrass ADD to see the investments grow to \$1M with the target date of achieving that goal with 5-years.

A motion was made by Mayor Blythe and seconded by Judge Adams to approve the financial report. The motion carried.

Chair, Mayor Smith mentioned the Board priorities. Broadband, Opioid and Substance Abuse. We continue to improve the district with the expansion of Broadband. Workforce is partnering with Isaiah House to provide employability workshops and career services.

Mr. Duttlinger wanted to recognize the past Officers and to Thank them for all their support they have given in the past year. Past Chair, Judge Huston Wells, Vice-Chair, Mayor James Smith, Treasurer, Mayor Robert Blythe and Secretary, Judge David West.

Next, Mr. Duttlinger introduced Master of Ceremony, Tony Wilder. Tony has served as a probation and Parole officer, then was elected Circuit Court Clerk for Boyle County be becoming a four-term County Judge Executive and became Commissioner of Department of Local Government and is now the Executive Director of Kentucky Council of Area Development Districts.

Mr. Duttlinger informed the Board last Wednesday was proclaimed ADD Day for the State of Kentucky with proclamations read in both the House and Senate Chambers and signed by Governor Beshear.

Mr. Wilder recognized Jas Sekhon. Jas Sekhon who immigrated to American from India and completed his master's degree in land use planning from Ole Miss. Jas pulled the region together driving around 17-counties to meet with the County Judge Executives and 33-mayors of the region, convincing them that working together will work. He asked for and received a per capita match from each of the 50-local governments to be used as matching dollars to state and planning dollars.

Mary Crowley Schmidt was recognized as most senior BGADD employee. She began working at the BGADD in July 1986 in pilot program for Homecare case management. Her current position is the Assistant Director for the Bluegrass Area Agency on Aging and Independent Living.

Logan Hart was called on for the newest BGADD employee. Logan accepted an intern position at the Bluegrass ADD in August of 2020 and was offered a position as Community Development Specialist and has successfully written a \$1 million Community Development Block Grant for the God's Outreach Madison County Food Bank, became a certified CDBG administrator.

Mayor Harold Rainwater was recognized as the longest serving elected official. Mayor Rainwater was first elected to public office in 1971 to the Wilmore City Council. He was elected Mayor of Wilmore April of 1976 and has now served for 12- terms making him the longest serving Mayor in the County. He also serves as an adjunct professor for Asbury University in the equine department.

Mr. Duttlinger wanted to Thank the communities for supporting us with baskets. Mayor Bruce Fraley, Mayor Linda Gorton, Mayor Dale Allen, Mayor Johnny Plummer and Judge Huston Wells.

There being no further business, Mayor Smith asked for a motion to adjourn. A motion was made by Judge Watson and seconded by Judge Gritton. The meeting adjourned at 8:15.