

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

July 26, 2023

The Bluegrass Area Development District Board of Directors met Wednesday, July 26, 2023 at Kit Carson Commons. Chair Mayor Robert Blythe called the meeting to order at 6:15 p.m. The following members were present:

Anderson County	Bourbon County	Boyle County
	Don Menke	Judge Trille Bottom
		Mayor James "JH" Atkins
		Martha Caywood
Clark County	Estill County	Fayette County
Judge Les Yates	Judge Donnie Watson	Judge Mary Diane Hanna
Mayor JoEllen Reed	Lucas Barnes	Chris Ford
	Freida Lancaster	
Franklin County	Garrard County	Harrison County
Judge Michael Mueller	Judge Chris Elleman	Judge Jason Marshall
Mayor Layne Wilkerson	Ken Parsons	Mayor James Smith
		Gary Brunker
Jessamine County	Lincoln County	Madison County
Judge David West	Judge Woods Adams	Mayor Robert Blythe
Peter Beaty	Bill Payne	Mayor Bruce Fraley
Tom Calkins		Phillip Williams
Mercer County	Nicholas County	Powell County
Mayor Sam Carr	Judge Steve Hamilton	Judge Eddie Barnes
Frank Mattingly	Cheryl Rawlings	Dale Allen
Mike Sanford		James Caudill
Scott County	Woodford County	At-Large Directors
Michael Hennigan		
Jared Hollon		
Director Emeritus		
Ed Burtner		

Others present were:

A quorum was present.

Chair Mayor Robert Blythe welcomed everyone and recognized special guests in attendance. He then welcomed Jackie Dean of Kit Carson Commons to the stage for special remarks.

Minutes

Secretary Judge Steve Hamilton directed attention to pages 1 - 18 of the packet and asked for approval. The pages include minutes from the following meetings:

- April 19, 2023 Executive Committee Meeting
- April 19, 2023 Board of Directors Meeting
- May 24, 2023 Executive Committee Meeting
- June 28, 2023 Executive Committee Meeting

A motion was made by James Caudill to approve the minutes. The motion was seconded by Judge David West. The motion carried.

Finance Update

Treasurer Mike Sanford indicated that Michael Buschmann, CFO reviewed the June 2023 Financial Report in depth earlier with the Executive Committee. He reviewed the highlights of that report. At the end of June 2023, we have a surplus of revenue of \$241,000. This additional revenue is mainly due to the PDS Program and additional revenue in the Community Development Department. This surplus revenue is likely to increase due to outstanding invoices. In addition, our investment account now has a balance of \$720,000 after collecting interest and rent for the month of June. Lastly, the FY2022 Audit has been completed and did include findings. Michael Buschmann detailed with the Executive Committee that corrective actions taken to remedy the internal control weakness that were identified in the Audit and provide mitigation efforts to prevent them from happening again.

Mayor Bruce Fraley made a motion to approve the Finance Update Report. The motion was seconded by Judge Donnie Watson. The motion passed unanimously.

District Staff Report

Deputy Director Shane New gave the District Staff Report in absence of Executive Director David Duttlinger. Shane reviewed the Councils and Committees organized and administered by the ADD. He emphasized the importance of the Councils and Committees and asked members consider taking a more active role.

Shane New indicated Jeremy Heard was named Employee of the Quarter and asked Mike Riley to provide additional comments. Mike told the group that Jeremy was selected as Employee of the Quarter based on the *Character First*! Character Trait of Diligence. In July 2022, Jeremy underwent double transplant surgery. Withing 7 days, Jeremy was already eager to return to work and was able to do so within two weeks. Jeremy never hesitates to jump in when needed and works until the job is complete.

Lastly, Shane asked Department Heads to quickly update the group. Mike Riley reported that Workforce continues virtual reality training and the department continues to assist the Bluegrass Army Depot, as they move toward closing the chemical weapon destruction program. Shane New reported that Community Planning continues to work on CDBG, Recreational Trails, and other grants as they do through the year. The Department is working to expand with an Appalachian Region Commission Grant. Celeste Robinson reported that funding for the Kentucky Family Caregiver Program, otherwise known as the Grandparent Program, was reinstated by CHFS/DAIL. We are in the process of setting up operations to begin conducting outreach and enrollment to the grandparents of our region for this program.

Reports of Committees & Councils

Area Agency on Aging and Independent Living Advisory Council

Judge Steve Hamilton gave the report for the Area Agency on Aging and Independent Living Advisory Council that met on May 10, 2023. The meeting included a presentation of Aging Unbound: Don't Let Ageism Hold You Back! You can find the complete minutes in the packet.

Human Services Advisory Council

Logan Hart gave the report for the Human Services Advisory Council in the absence of Judge Sarah Steele. The Council reviewed and updated bylaws. Sheri Hannan, the Program Director of Safe Kids Fayette County spoke about the Safe Kids Program. Scott Collins also spoke about the REAP (Remove/Reduce Education Adjust/Accommodate Pace). The next meeting will be held on August 25, 2023.

A motion was made by Judge Mike Williams to approve all of the Committees and Councils Reports. The motion was seconded by Robert Blanton. The motion carried.

KIRPs (Kentucky Intergovernmental Review Process)

Mayor Blythe indicated that there are two KIRPs on the list to approve.

- 1. Phase 1 Stormwater Improvements Crab Orchard
- 2. Burgin PDM Drainage Report City of Burgin

A motion was made by Mayor Bruce Fraley to approve the KIRPs. The motion was seconded by Lucas Barnes. The motion carried.

There being no further business to discuss, Mayor Blythe asked for a motion to adjourn. A motion was made by Judge Steve Hamilton. The motion was seconded by Judge Mary Diane Hanna. The meeting adjourned at 6:42 pm.



These minutes and attachments having been approved by the Executive Committee of the Bluegrass Area Development District on August 23, 2023 are hereby made part of the permanent records of the district.

Alex Blythe

Chair Mayor Robert Blythe